top of page

Rhode Island Press Association honors journalists for 2015 work

NORTH KINGSTOWN -- The Rhode Island Press Association Friday presented 133 awards to journalists throughout the state for writing, design and photography in its editorial contest for 2015.

The association also inducted three new members into its Journalism Hall of Fame: Leonard I. Levin, retired news editor for The Providence Journal;’ the late James F. Baron, political reporter for The Pawtucket Times; and Arline A. Fleming, former staff feature writer for The providence Journal.

During the annual banquet, held at the Quonset “O” Club, the press association elected officers for next year: Paul J. Spetrini of the Independent Newspapers will remain as president of the organization; Michael McDermott of The Providence Journal succeeds Susan H. Areson, formerly of The Providence Journal, as vice president; Sarah Francis of Rhode Island Monthly will remain as treasurer; and Linda Lotridge Levin, University of Rhode Island, emeritus, will remain as secretary

The categories and award winners can be found by clicking here.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page